Parent zone

Term dates

The Barnes Village Nursery 2023-2024 Term Calendar

Please Note: The closure dates listed are part of the overall Nursery provision and no reduction in fees will be applicable for children who ‘should’ have attended on these dates.

We aim to communicate effectively with our parents. Please look through this section to find information tailored specifically to your needs.

If you need any further clarification or have any queries or concerns, please do come and see Jules in the Office.

Get in touch

Parents Guide to the EYFS:

At The Barnes Village Nursery, we work within the Government’s prescribed Childcare guidelines as laid out in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS). The EYFS is how the Government and Early Years Professionals describe the time in your Child’s life between birth and age 5.  

This is a very important stage as it helps your Child to get ready for school as well as preparing him or her for their future learning and successes. From when your Child is born up until the age of 5, their Early Years’ experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure; and support their development, care and learning needs.  

The EYFS splits Children’s learning into 7 key areas:


1.  Physical Development

Increase control over large movements so they can run, jump, hop, skip, roll, balance and lift
Increase control over the small movements they make with their arms, wrists and hands so that they can pick up and use objects, tools and materials
Improve their understanding of how to look after their bodies

2.  Personal, Social and Emotional Development
Instil confidence in themselves and their ability to do things. Valuing their own achievements.
Enable children to work with and form relationships with children and adults.
Increase awareness of the rules that keep other people and the environment safe.
Enable children to learn to dress, undress themselves, and look after their personal hygiene.
Instil trust that their thoughts, opinions and ways of doing things are respected, and learn to respect the same in others.


3.  Communication and Language Development
Improve conversational skills: listening and talking one-on-one, in small and large groups.
Improve vocabulary: learn the meaning of new words, use & understand the meaning of unfamiliar words. 
Improve their ability to describe experiences with words

4.  Literacy 
Improve knowledge of the sounds and letters that make up words
Develop the ability to listen and understand stories
Learn how to handle books as sources of knowledge and information
Learn how to use writing and make attempts at their own writing.

5.  Mathematics
Understand how numbers answer ideas and questions regarding: how many, how much, how far and how big
Be able to use counting effectively
Introduce addition and subtraction
Understand patterns, shapes and objects.
Understand measurement and how to measure objects.


6.  Knowledge and Understanding of the World
Positively learn about the world around them
Learn ideas about the natural world and how it works
Learn ideas about the made world and how it works
Learn how to choose and use the right tool for a task
Learn how to put ideas about the past and present together, and the links between them.
Learn about their locality and its special features
Learn about their own and different cultures

7.  Expressive Art and Design
Explore use of: paint, materials, music, dance, words, stories and role-play to express their ideas and feelings in an imaginative way.

For more information, please download the Parents Guide to the EYFS HERE


We feel so lucky that our son has had such amazing love and care and been given a brilliant introduction to education